I figured if I’m going to the Indy I am going in style.  Maybe a box seat!  Maybe the camper in the pits.  I’m going to need that because my lunchbox had a rather messy meal in it.


Ellie’s Open-Face PHILLY Cheese Steak Sandwich

When ever I try out a new place for lunch, if they have the Philly, I will try it.  I’ve had one from about 20 different places.  Most are good.  Some not so much.  The one from The Huddle House isn’t bad.  Neither is the one at IHOP.  I haven’t found one that blows me away yet.  Guess I will just have to keep trying.

Meanwhile Ellie’s will do nicely for a make-at-home Philly.  A toasted whole whet Italian roll (I used a WW English muffin instead) covered with nicely browned beef, sauteed onions and bells (Ellie said red and green but I am not a fan of green so I used orange instead.  Great Color!), and a lovely cheese sauce made with REAL cheese – extra sharp cheddar.  It was quite tasty, but quite messy as well.  Which is just fine with me.  Definitely a repeat, maybe NOT for the INDY, but any other lunch.

The recipe is from Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix (page 112) .  I also found it on my friend Tracy’s blog.

Check out what else is our Lunchboxes.