For June I am using One Big Table for Cookbook Countdown.  I added this cookbook to my collection in 2010. I had made three recipes {Spring Chicken and Dill Noodles, Thomas Jefferson’s Chicken Fricassee, and Nina Chanpreet Singh’s Chicken Tikka) already but had never blogged them.  Then I put the book  on the shelf.  It’s time to pull it out again.

Molly O’Neill collected more than 600 recipes from cooks and bakers all over the United States.  It includes the story of the cook/baker as well as anecdotes and other little nuggets of knowledge about food, trends, gadgets, and areas of the US.  It is a wonderfully  eclectic volume of recipes.

First recipe:  Creole Shrimp.  


This particular recipe is from Charleston, SC.  Specifically it is the recipe from Mrs. McNulta who gave the recipe to the Junior League for their cookbook, Charleston Receipts which was first printed in 1950.  Everybody uses this recipe so it has to be good, right.  Not necessarily!!

I found it to be rather bland.  All we could taste was the tomatoes. There was absolutely no flavor until I added some bay leaves and garlic.  All in all not a repeat.  I will stick to my good ol’ Louisiana recipe.


    Tomato Paste
    Diced Tomatoes
    Bell Pepper {I left this out}
    Kosher Salt/Pepper {and maybe a little Cayenne}
    Garlic {added}
    Bay Leaves {added}

This recipe is on page 259.

If you like an eclectic collection of good, and sometimes interesting, recipes you really need this book.  Really!! I’m looking forward to making at least 1/2 of the recipes I have marked just for Cookbook Countdown!!

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).