I don’t know about you but Shepherd’s Pie is a common occurrence in our kitchen. Whenever I need something easy and filling I usually turn to Shepherd’s pie. And there is not much difference between one recipe and another.  Except years ago I stopped using any kind of canned soup and started making my own filling.  SOOOOO much better.  But I was still unhappy because of all the potato topping the pie.


I don’t have to worry about that any more because of Ellie.  This topping is made with potatoes and cauliflower.  A new twist on your every day Shepherd’s Pie.  And a good one.  Even The Man liked it and he is NOT a cauliflower fan.  The steamed cauliflower mixes in very well with the potatoes so that the taste is more potato.  And although Ellie doesn’t add the cheese on top it just wouldn’t be Shepherd’s Pie with out a little cheese.

The filling is lean ground beef mixed with onions, carrots, mushrooms (which I left out), peas, and seasonings.  Very tasty.

The recipe is from Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix (page 131) but it is also HERE!

More Beef recipes are on Eating with Ellie.

While you are there check out the schedule of Themes for Eating with Ellie.  Won’t you join us?