The theme for Eating with Ellie this week was The Color Purple which brough to mind all kinds of yummy veggies.  But I stayed with 


because it is coming in from the garden now.  I love the Japanese eggplant.  It is so tender and it doesn’t really need to be peeled like the Big Bell.

I admit, I have made this before to go with some salmon patties  but I never blogged about it because it was an extra side. I had no trouble making it again this week. Especially since it is garden season and I could pick everything fresh. Fresh like pick in the morning, cook at night.


Lots of wonderful  fresh eggplant, zucchini, garlic, basil, and tomatoes from the garden.  I had made a note that it needed a touch more salt so I added just a tad.  Perfect!

The recipe is from Ellie’s So Easy (page 192) , but you can also find it online.

There is more purple over on Eating with Ellie so go check it out.