Three potato, four.  Remember that old round we used as kids to out somebody from the circle?  It still plays in my head even tho’ I haven’t used it in 60+ years.  My grands use it.  My kids used it.  It will never die. Ad it came into my head when I had to pick a theme for this week’s Eating with Ellie.AND you can never go wrong with a good potato recipe – especially when it has lots of cheese, herbs, and sauce.


Scalloped Potatoes au Gratin

This is one dish that is always a hit at the dinner table but usually it has tons of cream and butter involved.  Not with Ellie’s recipe.  Low fat milk, Gruyère cheese, garlic and thyme make this dish tasty but also much lower in calories.  Only 280 a serving rather than 380.  


Using a little flour to thicken the low fat milk  results in lots of creamy sauce and room for lots of cheese.  And since it’s Gruyère there is already tons of flavor.

The recipe is from Ellie’s comfort food fix (page 221). but also on FoodTv.  I made 1/2 of the recipe and it was more than enough for 4 healthy servings.

More potatoes on Eating with Ellie.  The themes through the end of September are posted.  Why don’t you join us.  Just cook, blog, and leave a link to the Ellie page.  Easy Peasy!