I like a good omelette.  Filled with ‘shrooms, ham, cheese.  Maybe a little basil.  I usually put all the goodies INSIDE the eggs.  But this dish from Ellie has everything – ham, cheese, ‘shroom, cheese, basil, and pesto – OUTSIDE the egg.  In fact it’s all stuffed INSIDE the mushroom.


Grilled portobello benedict

I honestly didn’t like it at first.  But after a couple of bites it kind of grew on me.  Not enough to make it again like this, but it was rather tasty for breakfast.  I can definitely see all this in an omelette.

The ham added substance, the basil a touch of lightness and the pesto a burst of flavor. All laid out on a grilled portobello.

The recipe is on page 49 of Ellie Krieger’s so easy.  You can also find the recipe on FoodTV.

More eggs on EGGS-ACTLY!

If you would like to join us every Thursday the weekly themes are on Eating With Ellie.  Just find a recipe, cook, blog, and leave us a comment.  We’d love to have you