Red Fish

Blue Fish

This week’s EwE theme was FISH!  But I guess you had figured that out already!

For some reason I had Dr. Seuss in my head the week I was supposed to come up with a theme and this one just popped into my head.  Could have been worse, I could have been thinking of Green Eggs and Ham or The Lorax or The Cat in the Hat.  I don’t think any of them would have made a good meal.  But fish – that’s a different story.

What about  broiled spicy salmon on a pita bread with spicy onions and sliced cukes? Yes?

Good answer!


open-face mediterranean salmon sandwiches

The whole dish contains tumeric, coriander, cumin, and cayenne. which are mixed with EVOO then spread over the fish before it is broiled.  The rest is heated in a sauce pan to cook the onions and garlic.  So.  Much.  Flavor!

Long slices of cucumber on a Pita bread {I used a whole grain one.} topped with sauteed onions topped with the salmon.

There is also a sauce made with plain yogurt, scallions, and lemon.  It was supposed to be OVER the fish but I really didn’t like it after it was made so I just put a little container of it one the side for the pictures.

I thought it might be dry with the sauce but the salmon wasn’t overcooked and the cucumbers added just enough moisture.  This was REALLY good!  Definitely a repeat.

The recipe is from Ellie’s Weeknight Wonders page 81 so it took less than 30 minutes to put together.

Want more fish dishes – Check out Eating with Ellie this week.  You’ll be glad you did.

And if you want to join us the themes are posted  Just cook, blog, and leave a comment on the theme page.  Love to have you.