IF you have read my blog you know that SHRIMP is probably my favorite food.  So now surprise that this shrimp dish from Alton Brown was one of the first things I made when I started to cook from The Early Years for Cookbook Countdown


Take 1 lb of peeled and deveined shrimp.  Seal in a plastic bag or container with 1/4 cup olive oil, 4 medium minced cloves of garlic  {I added some extra} , 1/4 tsp of kosher salt, and 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper.

Heat a 10″ iron skillet for 5 minutes over medium heat.  Add the shrimp and all the other ingredients to the skillet.  Toss the shrimp etc constantly for about 5 minutes as the shrimp cooks and turns opaque in the center – about 3 or 4 minutes.

Serve immediately.

This is not an ingredient, at this point, to be added to anything.  Like shrimp scampi – good all by itself.

But I had plenty of leftovers since I made a double batch and mixed mine with some additional olive oil and some tan mien – Chinese egg noodles.


This recipe is from Alton Brown’s The Early Years page 379. Alton suggested using the leftovers in a Garlic Shrimp Casserole

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).