This week’s theme – Rice is Nice – chosen by ME wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.  I mean, rice, people.  It’s used in all kinds of dishes.  Desserts.  Salads. Sides.  Casseroles.  Why was it so hard to find a rice dish?  Because Ellie has plenty of them.

I thought about a nice rice pudding but I wasn’t in the mood for sweet.  I had just made a salad made with rice .  Then I ran across this risotto recipe.  I love making risotto.  It is such a comfort food.  Rich. Creamy.  Full of flavor.


and since we had just harvested some butternut squash from the garden it was easy to decide.

Arborio rice, white wine, butternut squash, sage leaves, Parm cheese all came together in a love creamy dish.

Ellie called for 1 cup pureed butternut squash so I roasted the squash, cooled it, and pureed it in the blender.  I added a hint of salt to bring out the flavor in the squash.  I also needed a tad more broth for the risotto to be as creamy as I like.  The recipe called for 5 cups, I used 5 1/2.

This was tasty.  The FRESH butternut took the dish just over the top in flavor.

The recipe is from Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix (page 216).  I also found it HERE.