…keeps the doctor away. At least that is the saying. Does that mean you have to just eat an apple every day? Well, yeah! But it doesn’t say HOW you have to eat the apple.

And I am sure when Peggy picked this week’s theme she wasn’t just thinking of a plain ol’ apple.

And good thing since Ellie has so many great apple recipes to choose from. Like these….

p1090929

Apple-Cranberry Turnovers.

Tart Granny Smith apple pieces sauteed in brown sugar with dried cranberries then carefully , CAREFULLY, wrapped in phyllo sheets.  I say carefully because Phyllo is the one crust you cannot be rough with.  Trust me.  I speak from experience.  Mostly bad!

But this time, they worked out pretty well.  My sheets were a little dry but I worked it out. Between two of the sheets of phyllo Ellie sprinkled crushed ladyfinger cookies.  Don’t usually have them in the house so I used crushed graham crackers in stead.  Worked.

The recipe for the turnovers is from The Food You Crave on page 294.  Or on FoodTV.

Want more apples from Ellie – Visit Eating with Ellie.

