I have lots of friends who eat soup year round.  For me I don’t make soup until the weather turns cool.  I know that’s silly.  Hot food is hot food.  It’s the idea.  I like the combination of cool weather and soup.  It warms you up.

Today it finally turned cooler in the Deep South.  That means that the high today was only about 75 instead of 85 or 90 which we have had the last 10 days.  UGH!!! I am ready for SUMMER to be OVER!!

I love the flavor and fragrances of curry so this recipe caught me eye.  AND we have some fresh butternut from the garden.  It was kismet!!

p1090941

Delicious!  It hit the spot on a cool day.  Lots of curry flavor  Very filling.

The dollop of Greek yogurt added a little ‘tang’ to the soup when it was mixed in.  I almost left it out because it usually isn’t my ‘thing’.  So glad I didn’t it.  It was the perfect addition.

Sautee curry powder, onions and garlic in butter.  Throw in some diced butternut and cook until soft.  Add veggie broth.  Puree.  Done!  Easy! Tasty! Warming!

TIP:  You will need to peel the butternut.  That is near-nigh impossible if they are cold.  If I need to peel them I usually nuke them for about 2 minutes.  It makes them so much easier to peel.

The recipe is from The Colorado Farmers’ Market Cookbook (page 77).  I also found it HERE!

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

