The Frog Commissary Cookbook describes this dish as a “quixotic blend of French, Asian, and American cuisines.”  Great description!  Thai Green Curry Powder.  French Béchamel.  American salted peanuts. “…intriguing in it’s mysterious tangle of flavors…” is a good description as well.

p1100135

As I was making this I was thinking, “Really? A Béchamel to make curry?  This is going to be awful!” So. if I thought it was going to be awful why did I make it?  Because usually when I say something like that I am totally wrong and because I am always open to new idea.

And boy was I wrong!  This was so good!!

Other than having to thin the sauce a little it was absolutely delicious.  The Béchamel made the curry rather luxurious because it was so thick and smooth.

Instead of measuring out the green Thai curry paste (1/2 ounce) I used 2 tsp of it.  It could actually have used a little more.

Definitely a repeat.

This recipe:  The Frog Commissary Cookbook page 129  Also, HERE!  And HERE if you want to print it out.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown 11 hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

