Every January I am probably one of millions who resolve to lose weight and eat healthier.  Right?  This year I am simply NOT going to do it.  Not make the resolution that is.  I am simply going to do it.  Period.

And what better way to do it than cooking with Ellie Krieger?  Her recipes are tasty, filling, and healthy.  Like this version of AMBROSIA!!

p1100173

My grandmother would make ambrosia every Christmas.  Then my mother would make it.  Me – not so much.  Not that I didn’t love it.  I just forgot about it.  And then thumbing through Ellie’s  Comfort Food Fix one day I ran across this healthier version made with yogurt and just a tad of whipping cream. Only about 240 calories a serving rather than 400+. Ellie, you are my hero!

There is also coconut, fresh cherries, pineapple, mini marshmallows, and mandarin oranges.  {I used some fresh satsumas from our tree.} It was the perfect side to the ribs, black eyed peas, cornbread, and cabbage.

The recipe is on page 290 of Comfort Food Fix. You can also find the recipe HERE.

For more Celebrations -> Eating with Ellie.

