During the presidential campaign of 1928, a circular published by the Republican Party claimed that if Herbert Hoover won there would be “a chicken in every pot and a car in every garage.”

Even today chicken is pretty inexpensive compared to other meats. We eat a lot of chicken. Not as much beef and quite a bit of seafood – Louisiana Gulf Coast is only 3 hours away. I make it many different ways but I have never been able to make a GOOD Roasted Chicken. I have tried it several times  But not a whole roasted chicken.

Well, on page 106 of Donna Hay’s modern classics Book 1 there is a roasted chicken.  Simple!  Nothing fancy, just a seasoned chicken dry roasted in the oven.  How could I go wrong?

p1100200

Perfect!!  Beautifully crispy on the outside.  Moist on the inside. Just enough seasoning.

I did not stuff the bird but rather filled the inside with onions, garlic, and salt and pepper.  Just right.

Mine was a 5 lb bird.  At the end of two hours it was not done quite yet so I roasted it another 15 minutes. Donna lists 65 – 70 minutes for a 3.5 bird at 375.  But it did come out beautifully.  I need to either check my oven temps or up the temp to 400F.

The recipe is a how to recipe from Donna’s modern classics Book 1.  Page 106.  Thanks, Donna, I can finally roast a chicken -well!!

For more chicken -> Wednesdays with Donna Hay

 

