I love a good home fried potato.  Many restaurants can do them right.  But not all.  I really needed to make them myself.   I get tired of simple roasted, baked, or boiled potatoes. Now I have another way to cook them.

p1100195

Basically what you have are 1 1/2 lbs boiled new potatoes in their skin which are then quartered and cooked in a skillet with about 1 Tbl veggie oil (I used Canola), 2 medium chopped shallots, 1 tsp paprika, 1/2tsp dry mustard, 1/2 tsp crushed dried rosemary,  and salt.  Simple.  Good with just about anything.

Most of the time home fries are cooked in lots of butter so this is a healthier version.  Of course, I LIKE the all butter, but…..

104 calories, 0 cholesterol, 2.5 gm fat in a serving (6 servings)

Recipe is from Low-Fat, Low-Cholesterol Cooking from the American Heart Association {page 251} my book for January’s Cookbook Countdown.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown 13 hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

