Still cooking from the Low-Cholesterol Cookbook from the American Heart Association. And still finding good recipes that are healthy and tasty.

p1100222

Sweet potatoes are probably one of my fave veggies.  I count them as a veggie and a potato so I am covered both ways.  AND, the plus of sweet potatoes, they can also be dessert.  This dish could have gone either way.

If I had mashed them and put a little whipped cream on them…

But I didn’t.  I used them as a side one night.  They were very good.  Soft. Creamy. Sweet.

The thing about sweet potatoes is that they have to ‘ripen’.  If you eat them right after picking they are not very good.  If you let them sit for about a month they get sweeter. These have been sitting for about two months so they were very sweet. The 2 Tbl of brown sugar just enhanced the sweetness without making them too sweet.
 


    1 lb sweet potatoes peeled and sliced crosswise into 1/4 inch slices
    1/2 cup fat free 1/2 and 1/2
    2 Tbl light brown sugar
    1 tsp orange zest
    1/2 tsp cinnamon {I used a little more}
    1/4 tsp nutmeg
    1 tbl light tub margarine

400 degree oven.  { I was baking chicken and biscuits at the same time so I upped the oven to 425}

Peal and slice the potatoes into 1/4 inch circles.  Layer them in an oven safe dish in even layers.

Mix the 1/2 and 1/2 {I subbed in milk and cream}, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and orange zest.  Pour this over the layered sweet potatoes and dot with margarine {Not my fave….and I hesitate to say this is healthier than butter.}   Bake for 35 – 40 minutes.  Stir them about 1/2 way into the baking time.

The recipe is from Low-Fat, Low-Cholesterol Cooking – page 259.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown 13 hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

