Another tasty recipe from Eat to Beat High Blood Pressure.  I am finding so many good recipes from this book.  Healthy and tasty.

p1100250

Sauteed Chicken with Caramelized Onions

The onions are cut into wedges and then caramelized in margarine olive oil a little sugar and salt and pepper. This takes a while – longer than the 8 minutes mentioned in the recipe.  The onions come out sweet and soft and brown.  

While the onions are caramelized the skinless, boneless chicken breasts are seasoned and then browned in margarine olive oil until well browned on both sides.  I cooked mine longer than 6 minutes per side so they would be nice and DONE!  

Rosemary and thyme are added to the onions.  Then the chickens are put into the skillet and allowed to cook until the chicken is completely done. I added more than the 1/3 cup chicken broth so I would have ‘sauce’ because I was serving the chicken and noodles over some brown rice/quinoa pasta.

I didn’t use the margarine.  I figured the olive oil was healthier.  There is just something about oleo/margarine that just doesn’t look right.  

We really liked this combination.  The onions and chicken were delicious.  

Without the pasta a serving (1 breast with 1/4 of the onions) was only 240 calories, 19 carbs, and 6 gm fat.  And it had lots of good nutrients to help lower blood pressure: potassium, calcium magnesium, and vitamin C.

The recipe is on page 84.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown 14 hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

