This week’s theme – chosen by Kayte – is ONIONS!!  I love cooking with onions.  So much flavor and so many things you can do with them.  Usually onions are NOT the major ingredient unless you are making Onion Soup or Onion Rings but in this recipe they are the star of the show.

p1100259

Caramelized Onion and Potato Stacks

The onions are browned first in a skillet and then layered in a muffin tin with slices of potatoes.  Drizzled with melted butter and moistened with chicken broth {I used Veggie}  the onions caramelize and add their flavor to the potatoes.  The recipe called for thyme sprigs but the Man doesn’t care for it so….. {and really neither do I}  Super simple!!

I made 1/2 of the recipe in large muffin cups and they were done in about an hour.  While the recipe didn’t call for salt and pepper I did add some before I cooked the potatoes.

These are a good alternative to your everyday potatoes and made a great side.

The recipe is on Donna’s Website.   

More onions -> Onions! Any way you slice ’em!

