Every Sunday after church I fix The Man waffles.  It has become our habit.  I don’t eat them because He likes them swimming in syrup and just plain with nothing inside. What about blueberries?  Pecans?.  Cinnamon?  Nope, not for him!

This past Sunday while he was enjoying his waffles I fixed some just for me!!

p1100255

A nice multi-grain waffle filled with whole wheat flour, buckwheat flour, and ground flax cooked 10-grain cereal.  I would have used the flax seeds but mine were old and I tossed them.  Since the 10-grain has lots of other grains I figured it would be okay.  Just as healthy.

I did like these.  They were filling and nicely textured.  Instead of the apple-raspberry sauce I used some not-too-sweet Wild Huckleberry Syrup a friend brought from Montana.  It is only huckleberries so no added sugar.

The recipe is from Eat to Beat High Blood Pressure page 25.

You can find the recipe HERE. Or HERE.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown 14 hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

