When Gaye suggested Mash-ups for this week’s theme I was thinking fancy.  Two or three different foods to make one – like a cookie baked inside a cookie or a pie within a cake.  I was wrong.  Her idea was for, simply,  for mashed food.  Like potatoes, or sweet potatoes, or turnips or something.  Easy Peasy!

How about Ellie’s herbed mashed potatoes?

P1100480

Like most people we eat mashed potatoes.  Usually loaded with milk and butter.  These aren’t loaded with those but they are loaded with flavor.

Tarragon and chives along with the salt and pepper give the flavor.  There is SOME milk and butter but not a lot.  Not like usually.

And since I am following the Whole30 program I’m not supposed to have dairy at all.  So I subbed in coconut milk and clarified butter.  Just right.  There is no coconut flavor with the coconut milk so it just adds moisture.  Good!

The recipe is from Ellie’s So Easy (page 174).  I also found it HERE.

For more Mash Ups -> Eating with Ellie

