This week’s theme, thank you, Kayte,  is Mom’s Favorite because Mother’s Day is Sunday.

I thought about what my Mom’s and my Grandmothers’ s favorite dishes were and I honestly don’t think they had one.  Any of them.  Maybe back in those day’s , pre- WWII and the early 1950s people didn’t think of a FAVORITE food as long as they HAD food.  Unlike today cooking and eating was just something you did.  Not something you really thought about.

As for me,  I would have to say I do have a favorite food – seafood – specifically SHRIMP with a good rib-eye coming in second.  With that in mind when I went for MOM”S Favorite I went for mine – I am a Mom!

P1100513

Ellie’s OVEN-FRIED SHRIMP

DELICIOUS!!  And easy to make.  The peeled shrimp are dipped in flour, then eggwhites, then rolled in whole-wheat breadcrumbs seasoned with thyme, .emon zest, salt and cayenne.  A little bit of bite with ton’s of flavor.  They were super crunchy without all the mess of frying and the calories of the oil.  Thank You, Ellie!!!

The recipe is from Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix.  page 185.

More Mom dishes -> Mom’s Favorite

Like to join in with us cooking with Ellie Krieger’s recipes.  Just click over to Eating with Ellie.  The weekly themes are on the right.  We don’t publish Ellie’s recipes but know you would love to have her books.  And lots of her recipes are on line.

