Why do I say that?
Oh, Wait!! Before I answer I have a question.

    Where have I been the last few years?

Evidently living under a rock somewhere.

    Why?

Because these treats have been making the rounds for a while and I just discovered them last Tuesday.

    Yeah, last Tuesday!!

What are they….

      Symphony Brownies!

Original Question Answered!!

Oh My!! But these are GOOD!! If you haven’t had them yet, and I may be the LAST one to eat one, you need to – NOW!

The process is easy. Make brownies. You can use a package mix or your own recipe. Pour half of the batter into the pan. Top with Symphony Almond/brittle candy bar(s).

Cover with remainder of the batter. Bake as you would according to your brownie recipe. See! Simple!! The only question is what brownie recipe to use.

I wanted to try a new brownie recipe so I used Alton Brown’s

Plain Ole Brownies

INGREDIENTS

    * Soft butter, for greasing the pan
    * Flour, for dusting the buttered pan
    * 4 large eggs
    * 1 cup sugar, sifted
    * 1 cup brown sugar, sifted
    * 8 ounces melted butter
    * 1 1/3 cups cocoa, sifted
    * 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    * 2/3 cup flour, sifted
    * 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour an 8-inch square pan. {I used parchement paper to make them easy to remove from pan.}
In a mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, beat the eggs at medium speed until fluffy and light yellow. Add vanilla.
Reduce mixer speed to 1/3 and add both sugars.
Add butterand dry ingredients 3 alternating doses beginning with wet, ending with dry.
Pour batter into the 8-inch square pan and bake for 55- 60 minutes. Check for doneness with the tried-and-true toothpick method: a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan should come out clean. When it’s done, remove to a rack to cool.
Resist the temptation to cut into it until it’s mostly cool

    {Recipe from I’m Just Here for More Food: Baking}.


Alton’s brownies are probably the best brownies I have ever made. Chewy! Fudgy! Delicious!
And with the added treat in the middle.

    SCRUMPTIOUS!