Wednesday!

Halfway through Phyl’s Ice Cream Week and that means today’s theme is Sorbet.

Sorbet is a frozen dessert made from sweetened water flavored with fruit (typically juice or purée), wine, and/or liqueur. Mine is made with pineapple, and lots of coconut – cream and milk. What better mixture than pineapple and coconut? Tropical and refreshing!! Perfect for summer. While I don’t often take a drink when I do I prefer sweet drinks and this is my favorite so when I saw this recipe I knew I had found my selection for Sorbet Day

All it needed was a tiny umbrella on the side of the bowl!!

Piña Colada Sorbet
{adapted from Fearless Homemaker}

2 15 1/4 ounce cans pineapple chunks and juice {I wish I could have found a GOOD fresh Pineapple!}
1/4 cup Splenda
1 cup light coconut milk
2/3 cup cream of coconut

Place pineapple, juice, and Splenda in a blender and process until smooth.
Combine pureed pineapple mixture, coconut milk, and cream of coconut in a bowl; stir well with a whisk. cover and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled.
Pour mixture into the freezer can of an ice-cream freezer. Freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Once frozen, spoon sorbet into a freezer-safe container; cover and freeze for 2 hours or until firm.

And Amy was right – IT.IS.ADDICTIVE!!!!! Every once in a while you run across a piece of pineapple. and in between the distinct taste of coconut. “SIGH” Maybe next time I will add some toasted coconut!!

Phyl has a nice Slushy for adults!
Rebecca’s gone tropical with Mango.
Abby made a neat ice cream accessory
Di made a raspberry treat!!