This week I have two cookies for you.  For some reason the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays just snuck up on me.  April 4th I remembered it was DC day about 10:00 – right before bed.  That’s okay, I’ll make them for NEXT time.  So I did.  Then this week, This morning I remembered it was DC day again.  I don’t know where my head is these days.  BUT I got the cookies made today and now I have TWO cookies for you.

First up:                                              Lemon Sugar Cookies

P1100392

These were so full of lemon flavor:  1/4 cup of lemon juice + the zest from the lemon. They were so sweet/tart that they didn’t last long.  Two sticks of butter made them lovely and light and rich.  Definite keepers!

These are part of Dorie’s Cookie’s and Kindness for April so the recipe is on Everyday Dorie.

Nest up:                                                 Anzac Biscuits

P1100436

In the states when we say biscuit we mean a fluffy white treat served with butter and jam or honey.  They are an addition to dinner.  But in the ‘colonies’ of Great Britain the word biscuit refers to a cookie.  In this case a cookie from Australia and New Zealand full of oatmeal and coconut.  In fact, the word ANZAC means Australia and New Zealand Army Corps which appeared in WWI.  These cookies were not for the troops but served at fundraisers FOR the troops.

They also contain Golden syrup which is not available anywhere near Podunk, USA, so I subbed in a mix of molasses and cane syrup.  About 1 Tbl of each.

Chewy, sweet, delicious.  Another keeper!

Both cookies are from Dorie’s Cookies.  The ANZAC biscuits are on page 159.  The Lemon Sugar cookies on page 171 {also HERE}.  

For more cookies from Dorie -> 1st Tuesday and 3rd Tuesday