We are getting near the end of the Puff Pastry Section of Malgieri’s the Modern Baker and I am finally finding time to do a few more Puff Pastry Selectios. I know I needed to do this one as it is the OFFICIAL post for these rather elegant desserts:


Y’all know I am not making full sized desserts. Just two of us at home now, yes, The Boy is here, but not for eats most of the time. Since minis are now the plan of the day I discovered a great way to make small round layers of Puff Pastry!

My 4.5″ tart pans. PERFECT!!

I end up with the perfect size for two people to share, eh, maybe…..!

To make the Feuillettés, place one baked puff pastry round on a plate. Spoon freshly whipped cream on top and then place the berries on top {Malgieri calls for a berry mixture, but all I wanted for this one was blueberries.}

The berries are mixed with sugar and kirsch {or white rum} and slightly crushed. Then the berries are topped with MORE whipped cream and topped with a second Puff Pastry Round. And then on top of that – Crème Anglaise! Which I then topped with a few of the blueberries.

Oh. My. Goodness!! This is really good!! And so PRETTY!!! If you have a dinner party coming up, THIS one is the dessert for you!!

You can find the recipe (since we aren’t publishing them) on page 201 of the Modern Baker. Check out Phyl’s Feuillettes. They are beautiful.

And visit The Modern Baker Challenge and see what we are making and join in the fun!