Here in the Deep South the Figs are ripe. And there are plenty of them with all the rain we have had these last couple of months. I usually pick them and give them to my neighbor but I found this easy recipe for a Fig Cake so decided to give it a try before I gave them away. I have to admit I am NOT a fig lover. I just don’t care for them. I did try one again this year but still not my thing. Different thing, though to put them in a cake – with pecans.

I was just about to make muffins instead of cupcakes and then I remembered this month’s Bundt Bakers’ Theme – Fruits and Nuts. Let’s see. Figs. Pecans. Yep – that qualifies. So back in the pantry went the cupcake pan and out came the bundt pan. Close shave!!

P1070086

For the Cake:

    2 cups AP flour
    1 1/2 cups sugar {I used 1/2 cup sugar. 1 cup Stevia in the Raw and 1 large Dash plain stevia}
    1 cup buttermilk
    3 eggs
    1 cup oil
    1 cup chopped pecans
    1 cup chopped figs
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 325.
Sift the flour, salt, soda, and sugar into a large mixing bowl. Add oil and beat until well blended. Add the eggs, figs, nuts, buttermilk, and vanilla. Mix well
Grease and SUGAR your bundt pan. {I used a small one and made 4 muffins as well.} and pour in batter.
Bake for 45 minutes or until inserted knife comes out clean.
For the Glaze:

    1 cup sugar
    1 stick butter
    1 Tbl corn syrup
    1 tsp vanilla
    1/2 cup buttermilk. 1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix all ingredients in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Boil 3 minutes
Pour over cake while still warm.

What a great, sweet cake. The figs basically melted into the cake and the pecans added just the right amount of crunch. I used the glaze but I also sprinkled powdered sugar over the cake.

P1070087

This one is definitely in the cake rotation. Hope the fig tree lives a long, long time.

P1070090

#BundtBakers is a group of Bundt loving bakers who get together once a month to bake Bundts with a common ingredient or theme. You can see all our of lovely Bundts by following our Pinterest board. We take turns hosting each month and choosing the theme/ingredient.
Updated links for all of our past events and more information about BundtBakers, can be found on our home page.

BundtBakers