Finally, I’ve had a chance to come back to Cookbook Countdown. How I have missed it. And reading about all the other cookbooks others cook/bake from.

I am a major fan of Alton Brown. When Good Eats was on I would not miss a show. Even now, after the shows are over, I can see them on The Cooking Channel and I have a few faves that I really enjoy –

  • Cheese Cake,
  • Churn, Baby Churn
  • Deep Purple (Eggplant)

and too many more to list here.  After Good Eats was gone AB came out with the cookbooks for the past 14 seasons.  And my family loves me because I have all three volumes.  As much as I love AB I really never cooked from the cookbooks.  So thanks, Cookbook Countdown  for ‘making’ me use another neglected cookbook. Let’s start with

GOOD EATS: THE EARLY YEARS

And with a recipe from Episode 7 – Southern Biscuits

biscuits

I make a pretty good biscuit, but I never get much rise out of them {which pleases my husband – for some reason he likes FLAT biscuits!} so I was glad to see these RISE up into nice tall ones.  Lots of layers to add butter, honey, or jam.  Yep!  I do love biscuits.

12 ounces {2 cups flour}
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter {1 ounce}, chilled
2 tablespoons shortening {1 ounce}, chilled
1 cup low-fat buttermilk, chilled

  • Heat oven to 450 degrees.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  • Using your fingertips, rub butter and shortening into dry ingredients until mixture looks like crumbs.
  • Make a well in the center and pour in the chilled buttermilk. Stir just until the dough comes together. The dough will be very sticky.
  • Turn dough onto floured surface, dust top with flour and gently fold dough over on itself 5 or 6 times.
  • Press into a 1-inch thick round. Cut out biscuits with a 2-inch cutter, being sure to push straight down through the dough.
  • Place biscuits on baking sheet so that they just touch. Reform scrap dough, working it as little as possible and continue cutting.
  • Bake until biscuits are tall and light gold on top, 15 to 20 minutes. {Makes 12}
  • Devour!

GOOD EATS!

The recipe is on page 42 of Good Eats: The Early Years.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).