It’s Tuesday. That means cookies! At least the 1st and 3rd Tuesday anyway.  This week’s cookie is a “corked” Breton Galette.  I looked at that name and could not figure our what it meant until I read through the blurb about the cookie. She was wandering through Paris and stopped into a pastry shop that was offering filled galettes.  The indention in the middle was made with a CORK rather than the usual thumb.

As soon as the galettes comes out of the oven press a cork into the center of each cookie.

1-p1100339

Well, I didn’t have a cork but I did have a utensil with a bottom about the size of a cork and that worked nicely.

I filled them with some lovely cherry preserves.

 I did make a small change.  I halved the sugar, subbed in Splenda and added about 1/8 tsp of Stevia.

Some of mine came out TOO browned and some weren’t brown enough but that was okay. The Man liked them and that was all that mattered.  Unfortunately I couldn’t eat any because I started the Whole30 program two weeks before.  Oh, well, I can always make them again.

The recipe is on page 291 of Dorie’s Cookies.  If you love, or even like, cookies you really need to get Dorie’s  Book.

How did the rest of the TWD group like them?  Visit Tuesdays with Dorie and find out.

