When I was 8  and we lived east of Liverpool in the little village of Rainhill my Mom had a garden.  Not unusual to have a garden.  Except it was the first garden my Mom ever planted.  And it contained rhubarb which grew wonderfully in that area of England.  I loved it.  It was sour and sweet at the same time.  I haven’t had rhubarb but twice since then.  Both for Tuesdays with Dorie.  You don’t find it in the stores much.  But I have a friend who grew some and I had just enough to make this Crisp.

p1100239

Mix together two cups chopped apple and two cups chopped rhubarb with 1/2 cup sugar and 1 Tbl cornstarch.  {I added a heaping tsp of cinnamon.  Cinnamon and Apples are perfect together.}  Let this sit for about an hour.

With a pastry blender mix together 2/3 cup uncooked oats, 1/2 cup AP flour, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. and 2 1/3 Tbl tub margarine until it resembles coarse crumbs.. {while I have enjoyed the recipes from this cookbook I will NOT miss using this awful  sub for butter!!!}.  

Sprinkle the topping mixture over the apple/rhubarb mix in a 1 quart casserole dish. Bake at 375 until the topping is light brown. {Mine took about 30 minutes.}  Let cool four about 2o minutes before serving.

I will tell you that this was NOT very good.  While The Man said it got better after a few bites I thought it was awful.  It could be that the rhubarb was picked too early and had no sweetness.  It could be the crumble which seemed stale.  It could be I just don’t like rhubarb anymore….There won’t be a repeat on this one.

The recipe is from Low-Fat, Low-Cholesterol Cookbook – my book for February Cookbook Countdown –  page 306.  The last recipe from this book as Countdown 14 starts tomorrow.  Still looking at a book for that one.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown 13 hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).

