…with Sweet and Savory Dipping Sauce is today’s CEinMB selection chosen by Teresa of A Blog About Food.

When I first looked at this recipe I thought it was going to be difficult to put together, but in her post Kayte assured us it was actually quite easy. And it was. The hardest part was getting the edges of the rice wraps to NOT curl up like saran wrap. But if you pick them up gently from the warm water they are easy to handle. Sticky, very sticky, but easy to handle!!

I made mine exactly as the recipe stated except(which means of course it ISN’T exact!!) in the sauce I used lemon juice instead of lime juice. The limes were icky looking at the store. I also used green leaf lettuce for the same reason. Nothing worse than brown Red Leaf Lettuce.

Made with shrimp (called for 2 per roll, I used 4 medium), carrots, lettuce, and rice noodles rolled up with fresh Basil ( I had to go buy a Basil plant because that was the only way to find any…..) and Mint leaves they are extra tasty with the light sauce of rice vinegar, siracha, green onions, and fish sauce. I cut back on the siracha just a tad and it was a perfect blend of sweet and hot.

So now I can proudly say that not only can I make General Tso’s Chicken, Pho from Steamy Kitchen via Daring Bakers, and Pot Stickers(also Daring Kitchen via Use Real butter – I can also make Summer Rolls. It’s enough to make a Southern Belle Cry……

If you want the recipe it is in Ellie’s The Food You Crave (pg 56/57) or HERE. Thanks, Teresa, for a yummy tasty choice.