There are several reasons I am glad Facebook was invented. Finding old friends. Keeping up with family. Chatting with buddies far far away. And one I didn’t expect – recipes. Yep, recipes – for lots of different goodies.. Cakes, cookies, and my all time favorite – bread. I was invited by Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies a couple of months ago but was really unable to participate until this month. And this month I am glad I did, it was a great bread…

    Maple Oatmeal Bread

was September’s Bread of the Month. It is a slightly sweet bread perfect for toast especially topped with a little Maple Butter. I made it just a little sweeter by brushing the top with a little Maple Syrup. Then I sprinkled a little oatmeal on top. It was just the right touch.

The recipe calls for flour but doesn’t specify what kind so I just used Bread Flour. Seemed appropriate. And it was just fine. Made a great crumb and it rose beautifully. I was afraid it would be tough because I was kneading the dough with the KA and forgot about it while playing WII with the kids multi-tasking, but it wasn’t.

It was delicious.

Maple Butter

1/2 cup softened butter mixed with 1/4 cup Maple syrup.

The recipe comes from Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads via floydm on The Fresh Loaf.