Cornbread is a staple in our house. We eat it with gumbo in the winter, we eat Fried Cornbread year round but mostly with Bar-B-Q. I usually use the recipe on the back of the Aunt Jemima Cornmeal bag and I usually make it SWEET. Now I live in the south – don’t make sweet in the Deep South. But I am 1/2 Hoosier and 1/2 Cajun and I like my cornbread sweet. Blame it on my Yankee Dad – Mom used to make cornbread with Ham Hocks and White Beans. I ate the ham and cornbread. They ate the beans. And it was not sweet cornbread. What can I say – I’m 1/2 Yankee and 1/2 Rebel


Where is that leading? It’s leading to the next bread on the Slow and Steady BBA baking list – Corn Bread!DSC04161


What can I say about this cornbread except – It’s Good!! Real Good!!

And it is not like any cornbread I have ever made. Why??

    First step is to make a soaker. This was new to me.
    Next step is mix the soaker with the rest of ingredients. Including crumbled bacon and corn kernels.

DSC04163

The bacon is crumbled on top, but spreads through the rest of the bread. The instructions called for an 8″ cake pan, but I always make our cornbread in a cast iron skillet with melted butter. So I did that here. Worked just fine.


This is definitely a keeper. Tasty! Moist! Easy!

Please visit the other members — Kayte, Nancy, Cathy, Audrey, Jessica, Melissa, Sarah, Di, Karen, Natalia, Tracey, and Leslie, of the Slow and Steady BBA and see their takes on the Corn Bread.

And if you want to see where the not so slow and steady BBA group are doing you can visit them.