…APPLE BREAD PUDDING!! Well, almost. I don’t think Bread Pudding actually has a ‘home’ as it were. It is found in all types of cuisines from French to Spanish, from London to New Orleans. When I think of Bread Pudding I think of New Orleans and Whiskey Sauce, but Dorie has a different take on it. She adds apples and apple butter, thus the name Apple Apple Bread Pudding. The process is a little complicated.

    Spread stale GOOD bread with Apple Butter. {I had made some, so I used that.}

      I didn’t have any GOOD bread so Monday I made the BBA Challah (Yeah, I actually thought ahead!) which you can see in the previous post.

    Line the pan with the ‘buttered’ bread.
    Cover with caramalized sliced apples.


    Sandwich with another layer of ‘buttered’ bread.



    Cover with custard and Bake….

    and what you end up with is…

    And if you add a simple caramel glaze….The caramel glaze is also from Dorie – from Applesauce Spice Bars

      For the Glaze:
      2-1/2 tablespoons heavy cream
      1/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar
      2-1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter
      1 teaspoon light corn syrup
      1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

    This was not a hard choice for me this week. Although I know there are several bakers out there who don’t care for Bread Pudding, it is one of my favorite desserts. So thanks to one of my favorite bloggers, Elizabeth, of Cake… or Death?(don’t you love that title!!) for this weeks TWD choice. It was messy to make (or maybe it was just me) but it was delicious.